• December 3, 2009 at 3:00 pm

Hi everyone!

My name is Randy and I’m very new to this forum. I am attempting to understand this question because I have been offered an opportunity to take care of someone part-time who suffers from dementia. Perhaps my question is not appropriate for discussion on this forum. If so, I apologize.

However, if it is condign to this forum, I would appreciate any input or feedback from those who work in the field as paid care givers. I am a non-family member, not part of any agency, and have very little training or experience in this matter.

The person in question is 89 yrs old and her four daughters are offering me this opportunity. I am a college student (of non-traditional age) who rents the basement of one sister. The 89 yr old mother who suffers from dementia will move in to the same sister’s home (where I currently reside) on January 1. At present, the family requires a four month commitment on my part to make this opportunity feasible.

I am attempting to understand the various aspects of this opportunity from both a medical and legal point of view. So if this forum welcomes it, I have many questions as part of my research into this matter. Perhaps I’m biting off more than I can chew and should decline this opportunity. Perhaps the family would be better served by hiring an agency.

Perhaps this thread may need to be moved or disallowed pending the decision of forum administration.

thanks for your patience and understanding!

Randy

• December 5, 2009 at 6:48 am